The Electronic System Design Alliance
The IEEE Council on EDA (CEDA)
are proud to honor

Dr. Randal E. Bryant

With the 2009 Phil Kaufman Award

Dr. Bryant received this award for his seminal technological breakthroughs in the area of formal verification. (Press release.)

Dr. Bryant’s research focuses on methods for formally verifying digital hardware and some forms of software. Notably, he developed efficient algorithms based on ordered binary decision diagrams (OBDDs) to manipulate the logic functions that form the basis for computer designs. His work revolutionized the field, enabling reasoning about large-scale circuit designs for the first time.

The ESD Alliance (formerly EDAC) and the IEEE Council on EDA (CEDA) held the 16th annual Phil Kaufman Award ceremony and dinner on Wednesday, November 4th, 2009 at the Dolce Hayes Mansion in San Jose, California.

The evening included presentations honoring Randal E. Bryant by:

   Walden C. Rhines Chairman of the ESD Alliance (formerly EDAC),
Chairman and CEO of Mentor Graphics, A Siemens business
   John Darringer President of the IEEE Council on EDA (CEDA)
   Rob Rutenbar Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
Followed by an acceptance speech by Dr. Bryant.

Award Co-Sponsors
CEDA ESD Alliance
Hosted By Event Management